Gaijins also speak Japanese

A bit exaggerated and to be taken with humor, this video does indicate ordinary discrimination in Japan. Carried out by the satirist, prolific on Youtube, Ken Tanaka, this video demonstrates the inability of Japanese to understand that a person, regardless of his skin color (white, black, any other Asian! ) can perfectly speak Japanese fluently, even better sometimes, than Asian.

Ken Tanaka is an artist raised in Japan, and consequently, who speak perfect Japanese despite his caucasian origin. His difference led him to reflect on physical and cultural identity issues.

The scene shown in this video is quite common in the sense that, when we go out with friends in a Japanese restaurant, and even though we are all able to order and read the menu in Japanese, the waiters always turn towards our Asian friends if presents.

 

In French

About Amélie-Marie (177 Articles)
C'est en 2007 que j'ai pour la première fois posé le pied au Japon. Depuis, je n'en suis jamais tout à fait rentrée. Amoureuse de l'archipel, mais aussi des voyages, j'aime écrire à propos des mes expériences de vie, des autres cultures que je croise. Depuis 2015, chargée de communication pour une école de Japonais (Coto Language Academy), j'assiste les élèves dans leurs démarches pour venir étudier au Japon!

Laisser un commentaire

